is PUMPKIN!  I am so happy that the weather has finally been cool enough in the evening that I can turn my oven on without overheating our house!  Of course the first thing I decided to bake this year to kick off the fall season was a batch of awesome pumpkin muffins.  I admit it… I’ll try just about any recipe that includes pumpkin, and I thought I had already found the best muffin/cake recipe, well I was wrong.  I found a better one in the “Fresh Everyday” cookbook by Sara Foster.  I LOVE this book.  The recipes have all been fantastic, the pictures are beautiful, and graphically it is just lovely to look at.

Recipe: Pumpkin Muffins by: Sarah Foster

makes 12 large muffins {note: I got 16 out of the recipe}

3 cups AP flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp freshly grated/ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup sugar

6 tbsp melted unsalted butter, cooled to room temperature

2 large eggs

1 15oz can pumpkin puree

1 cup milk

1 1/2 cups golden raisins {note: I used 3/4 cup dried cranberries instead}

1. Preheat oven to 375. Line 12 large muffin cups with liners and spray the top of the pan with veg. oil spray.

2. Stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt together in a large bowl.

3. In a separate large bowl, stir the sugar, butter, and eggs together. Sir in the pumpkin puree, milk, and raisins and pour into the bowl with the flour mixture.  Stir until the dry ingredients are just moistened; do not mix any more than necessary.

4. Using a 1/3-cup measure or an ice cream scoop, scoop the batter into the muffin tins, filling each to just below the top of the paper liner. Bake the muffins on a center rack for 25-30 minutes {note: I only needed about 23 minutes}, until the tops of the muffins spring back when touched lightly and a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.  Allow the muffins to cool for a few minutes in the tin before turning them out.  Serve immediately or cool on a wire rack.

I almost followed the recipe exactly with just minor changes of swapping out raisins and using cranberries instead.  I also topped the muffins with chopped pecans for a little extra crunch!

I would suggest putting this cookbook on your wish list or just running out and buying it now!

Photo Credit: fuzzynk

